A Must See Heart Warming Turkey Rescue

 All I know, is that if I were a turkey, Karen Dawn can rescue me anytime! Her amazing voice can put me right into a trance. She reminds me of Snow White, but who is now all grown up, living in CA and rescuing some very LUCKY turkeys every Thanksgiving. What an inspiration!

This video hits home, as once upon a time, I had a Cockatiel named Sunny Bird who lived with me for 15 years. He showed me first hand how smart and sensitive birds can be. His favorite thing to do was enjoy a warm blow dry after a spa treatment ;) So I know that feeling of caring for God’s special animals. There is little that is more rewarding than helping to make someone feel safe, happy and loved. Sunny Bird would close his little brown eyes and just sit there, just like the turkey in the video, until he was all dry. I miss that little guy. 

My Sunny Bird

Memories of blow drying Sunny bird is the closest I will get to rescuing a turkey this year, well, if you don’t count our adopted Turkey from Farm Sanctuary. We love doing that every year!

I hope Karen’s video inspires you to have a kinder holiday season and to inspire those around you. Maybe it helps to see turkeys in a different light?

I have never enjoyed Thanksgiving as much as I do now. It took having that little something more to celebrate which is bigger than myself, to realize how much more meaningful it can be. I love celebrating life.  I know per history we are supposed to be celebrating having food to eat, but luckily most of us never have known what it’s like to not have food to eat. So without knowing that contrast, the genuine grateful feeling can come from showing mercy to another by not cooking it and shoving stuffing up it’s arse. I know this contrast well, because as a researching vegan, I see the horrors on a daily basis. It’s definitely kindness that makes this holiday special now. Heck, it makes every meal special. I am sorry to say, that I haven’t always shown mercy, but I didn’t know better back then. Now I do and act on it. One day, when I get to those pearly gates, I certainly hope to be forgiven.

What’s on the menu this year?

Well, we will enjoy a mini feast starting with cranberry pesto crostini, a wonderful green salad with avocado, cranberry, almonds, chopped apples and balsamic dressing. A gardein stuffed roast, orange grand marnier cranberry sauce, garlic and rosemary mashed potatoes with mushroom gravy, rosemary and garlic green beans, sweet potato casserole with pecans and then if there is any room left, we will stuff in some pumpkin pie topped with coconut whipped cream. Boy, I better get started in the kitchen , huh?  One thing is for sure, we LOVE food around here and are grateful for every delicious vegan bite.

If you need any recipe ideas, perhaps being a last minute throw it together kind of person like myself (I still haven’t gone grocery shopping… that’s tonight’s adventure right after I post this) check out my Pinterest Holiday Table or these old posts from last year:

New Traditions: 24 Holiday Worthy Plant-Based-Vegan Main Dishes

New Traditions Part 2: Holiday Side Dishes and Our Thanksgiving Menu

My Thanksgiving Review

I hope you have a wonderful and kind Thanksgiving!

~The Karmatarian

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    […] Alright…. I know you are tired of seeing that Turkey rescue post every time you come to my blog. My friends, you have spoken, I have heard you… and I am […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

