Teriyaki Tofu and Pineapple Skewers over Sweet Coconut Rice

Teriyaki Tofu and Pineapple Skewers over Sweet Coconut Rice

After three back-to-back eclipses, many solar flares, intense astrological alignments and waves of higher energetic frequencies sweeping the earth, helping us to release and ascend higher (which hit me pretty hard), I finally had the strength to veganize a recipe! This recipe, I used to love to make – Salmon Teriyaki Skewers with Pineapple. Salmon and Turkey were among the last to go when I was transitioning our family vegan. Now I can barely type those words. Ok, exaggeration. But I did make those type of dishes once per month in between great vegetarian and vegan meals while building my confidence in the vegan arena. 

This recipe was always a hit. To veganize it, I was looking to replace the Salmon with Tofu, and mind you, I am still experimenting with this. I used firm tofu and it worked very well, but it was rather fragile. I baste and turn this VERY carefully. I may try using extra firm next time until I can find a vegan salmon alternative. Extra firm Tofu would be good especially for grilling. Maybe even high protein super firm! I prefer to broil the skewers, so firm tofu was just fine, nice and delicate like the “fish” I used to… dare I say – enjoy.  

As a vegan I can say, we aren’t vegan because we didn’t like the taste of meat or fish. I speak for most. We are stronger now. We know better and do better and have adjusted our taste buds accordingly.

My husband really enjoyed this dish and he is well aware of the original recipe, because I made it so often. I say it’s a keeper! My tips – Just be sure to like your marinade because your tofu will taste exactly like it! Feel free to use low sodium or gluten free soy sauce. And DON’T use coconut oil unless the marinade is at room temp or the oil will harden and it will not be pretty. I have made this mistake.

You can get the recipe HERE.  I follow it as is.  Just promise me you will use Tofu, not Salmon for these Top 10 reasons NOT to eat Salmon. They didn’t even touch on the fact that you can obtain 600% more Omega 3 from Chia Seeds than from Salmon. Eat smart!

I have always served this dish over coconut rice. It’s my added flair. Yes, the rice is white… because when I’m feeling bad, white rice is about as bad as it gets. Also because I have made it with brown, and it’s just not the same. It’s a bit too heavy for this light theme and takes away from the coconut flavor. Try it both ways. You’ll see.

Here is my recipe for the rice:

Coconut Rice

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 Cup Jasmine Rice
  • 1 Can Coconut Milk (light or regular, it’s up to you)
  • 1 +  3/4 Cup Water
  • 4 tsp Organic Sugar
  • 1 Pinch Sea Salt
  • Handful of Sliced Almonds

Directions

Combine the coconut milk, water, sugar and salt – dissolve. Stir in the Jasmine rice and bring to a boil. Cover and reduce to simmer for 18-20 minutes. Stir in a sliced almonds and serve.

I hope you are navigating these intense energies with grace. A lot of us seem to be introspective right now, having a roller coaster of emotions and unexplainable physical symptoms. Just remember that we are being divinely guided and better things are in store for all of us. When something from the past comes bubbling up for you, just know it is doing so to be released. Thank it and let it go!

Stay in gratitude to manifest your hearts desires.

Enjoy,

~The Karmatarian

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Brittany said,

    This looks amazing. Trying to find appealing vegan recipes (which isnt hard). This is my second pregnancy, but my first plant based vegan one! I am going to do my best! If you have any vegan pregnancy resources I’d love to check them out!

  2. 2

    Christa said,

    Thank you Brittany! Best of luck with your pregnancy. I know the Authors of Skinny Bitch have a pregnancy guide/book but I’m not sure who else off the top of my head. I will have to think on that for you.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

