Vegan White Chocolate Chip Cranberry Cookies

vegan white chocolate chip cranberry cookies

It’s not every day that you get to graze a cookie buffet with a clear conscious. A few girls happened to get our sugar buzz on at a vegan Christmas cookie exchange the other night. This is really exciting stuff! A big thanks to my girlfriend Sue for being such a fun hostess providing a chance to meet new people.

I came home with a nice variety of vegan homemade treats for my family. Gratitude feels good! And today I am proud of myself for displaying a ton of will power, because I could easily eat this whole dang tray!

Vegan Christmas Cookies

You may notice a few store bought cookies in the mix, because not everyone who showed up was a vegan baker. It’s just nice to see everyone participate with vegan spirit.

My contribution to the exchange was a cookie that I have been wanting to veganize for a few seasons now. A white chocolate chip cranberry cookie. I think it turned out really good! At least that’s what they tell me.

My cookies are a vegan spin on this recipe I found years ago at www.all recipes.com. It’s really just a spruced up basic chocolate chip cookie. White and red being great colors for the holiday make a nice presentation. The key ingredient is the orange flavored liquor. The original recipe calls for brandy or vanilla. I have even used orange extract in the past, but this time I used Grand Marnier… I had plenty left over from our Thanksgiving feast. This was a good call.

Vegan white chocolate cranberry cookies

I found it a bit tough to find vegan white chocolate chips. I ordered mine online from Amazon.com  If you are looking, I would also check your local health food store, natural food store in your area or Whole Foods.

I had a lot of fun baking this year, mostly due to my friend Melanie who joined me in the kitchen for a comical adventure. We also created some vegan gingerbread men and women. The cookie itself was excellent, the decorating, not so much!

Decorating cookies takes a patient and steady, steady hand. We were in a little bit of a hurry. Of course we only took the best to the party, but now I’m thinking about how funny it would have been to show up with a tray of these hilarious misfits with a straight face.

Vegan gingerbread misfits

 

Vegan gingerbread cookies

If you would like the recipe for the gingerbread cookies, message me or comment here and I’ll be sure to get it to you! The mini vegan versions are so cute, and perfect for dunking in your tea.

… On to theee recipe

vegan white chocolate cranberry cookies

Vegan White Chocolate Cranberry Cookies 

Ingredients

  • 1/2 Cup Earth Balance margarine, softened
  • 1/2 Cup Packed Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 Cup Organic White Sugar
  • EnerG Egg Replacer for 1 egg
  • 1 Tablespoon Grand Marnier
  • 1  + 1/2 Cups Organic all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 Tablespoon plus 1 tsp Water
  • 3/4 Cups Vegan White Chocolate Chips
  • 1/2 Cup Dried Cranberries

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a large bowl cream together margarine, brown sugar and white sugar until smooth.

Beat in the egg replacer and Grand Marnier.

Combine the flour and baking soda (I usually whisk it together) and stir into the sugar/margarine mixture.

At this point I use my hands to really mix the dough because I don’t have a mixer yet. Add the water gradually just until the dough starts coming together nicely. Mix in the white chocolate chips and cranberries. It is best to do this by hand.

Form the dough in to not-so-perfect balls (they can be full of texture) and flatten just a little. Place on prepared sheets and bake anywhere from 8-11 minutes. My magic number is 10 minutes.  Please keep in mind that these cookies will come out of the oven seemingly airy, soft and very much not set, but they do firm up as they cool due to the egg replacer.

*Note 12-18-15 I just baked these again this year! I doubled the recipe which yielded a little over 48 cookies. I added 3 Tbs Grand Marnier this time and 1 tsp Orange extract for the double batch. The orange is a new addition. The orange compliments the Grand Marnier wonderfully and brings it out. So really these cookies should be renamed, White Chocolate Chip Cookies with Orange Essence. Merry Christmas!


Vegan Christmas Cookies

This recipe yields 24 cookies

Enjoy your holidays!

~The Karmatarian

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sue said,

    Glad you have will power – I don’t! at least 5-6 cookies/day since. All scrumptious! Next up: vegan 100 calories or less snack exchange. That way I can feel less guilty with the aftermath!

  2. 2

    Chrissie said,

    I would like the vegan gingerbread cookie recipe please, yes. I substituted vegan for non-vegan items in the recipe I have. It was OK, but not great. I’m looking for great. Thank you. :)

  3. 3

    Christa said,

    Hi Chrissie, Happy New Year! Here is the Recipe for the Gingerbread cookies: Ingredients: 1/3 Cup Canola Oil, 3/4 Sugar, 1/4 Molasses, 1/4 Cup Soy or Almond milk, 2 Cups Flour, 1/2 tsp Baking Soda, 1/2 tsp Baking Powder, 1/2 tsp Salt, 1/2 tsp Ground Nutmeg, 1/2 tsp Ground Cloves, 1/2 tsp Cinnamon, 1 + 1/2 tsp Ground Ginger. Directions: Whisk oil and sugar for 3 minutes. Add molasses and soy/almond milk. In a separate bowl, sift together all dry ingredients and add to wet ingredients in batches. Mix well until a still dough forms. Flatten the dough into a disk and wrap in plastic wrap. Refrigerate until well chilled, at the least an hour. Preheat oven to 350 degrees while dough sits out for 10 minutes. Roll out on a floured surface and cut shapes. Bake for 8 minutes. Enjoy!! I hope these turn out better for you than what you have tried. We are happy with these. Let me know how it goes!

  4. 4

    Ivy's Gramma said,

    Regarding the mini gingerbread men: Is there any reason why I couldn’t use a different oil than canola? Say, safflower oil?? I do not ever use canola oil. Thank you in advance for the response! :) I’m looking forward to making both of these recipes with my 2-1/2 year old granddaughter. My daughter, granddaughter, and I are all vegans for various reasons, but it works at holidays!! lol

    Oh, and, PS: Love Grand Marnier, so any reason to bake with it is a good one!! {Also would try this with Chambord!!!}

  5. 5

    Christa said,

    Chambord sounds good!! I think I may have used coconut oil for these gingerbread cookies but the original recipe that I found called for canola. Oil is oil… It should work just fine. So nice to hear you are all vegan in the family. How wonderful! Keep me posted about how the cookies turn out! :)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

