Irma’s Vegan Pan-Crepes (with The Vegg)

There’s a fun new product out there called The Vegg. Have you heard of it? It’s Vegan egg yolk!!! I know it’s hard to believe, but it’s true. The simple ingredients that make up The Vegg are also low-fat-plant-based-diet approved! When I got my hands on the new Vegg I wanted to try to re-create the toughest recipe I could think of. Irma’s pancakes. Or what I like to call Irma’s pan-crepes.

Sweet, sweet Irma. Everyone should be so lucky to have an Irma in their life! Imagine having a high school best friend and always hanging out at their house after school. Your best friend’s mom becomes like your second mom and she is super cute, super sweet, loving, kind and nurturing. But one other thing, she has a strong and adorable Peruvian accent which makes it all a bit more interesting. It’s a small language barrier, because you don’t speak that language! However, as you know, there just happens to be couple of languages that we ALL speak… Love and Food!

The first thing Irma will do is offer you something to eat. Scratch that, she will insist that you sit down eat something and she will go right into that kitchen of hers and cook you up something great! This is her love language. And this, you just have to accept. It’s certainly not hard to do. YUM!

It didn’t matter back then if it was vegan or not. It was filled with the intention of love and generosity and that’s all that mattered.

Because we didn’t know.

Now we do.

Anyway, this is my mom’s story. She grew up spending a lot of time over at her best friend Helen’s house and Helen’s wonderful mom Irma is like her second mom. Naturally, being related in all of this, Irma (Helen too) has known me since I was born! I have experienced first hand what has come to be an adopted tradition in our home. Irma’s pancakes. This is what my mom likes to call them.

Although, they are not pancakes. They are not an omelet either. And they are not really crepes. Think combination. Think eggy pancakes crepes. Think different and delicious!

The original Irma’s pancakes are made using mostly eggs, a tiny bit of flour, water and vanilla, sprinkled with powdered sugar and served with love. How in the hell do you veganize that!?! Needless to say, I hadn’t made these in a long long time. I thought these were history… until The Vegg happened.

The Vegg is essential for us vegan breakfast lovers! In my best Justin Timberlake… They’re bringing French toast back! There are so many fun things to make: scrambled eggs, hollandaise sauce, omelets, pancakes, quiche, eggs sunny side up. Yes, you read right. It’s really wild! Potato salad, egg salad, etc, etc… virtually any dish in which eggs were once required but you know better so you haven’t had them in a long time. There are endless creations to be made, and if you follow The Vegg on Facebook, you will be up to date with more fun recipes and great information.

The Vegg did not disappoint. In fact, my list is long of all the recipes I want to try with The Vegg. You will definitely see more of this product used in recipes on my blog. Better stock up!

I just hope Irma will be flattered to know that we love her pancakes so! She probably already does. I just truly hope she won’t mind that I veganized them. I know that it may be difficult for her generation to understand why I would want to and I don’t really expect her to grasp it at this point, but I know that her loving heart would agree that kindness to animals and planet and the absolute best thing for our health is to bring these up to date.

The next update will be a gluten-free version. My mom does much better on a gluten free diet, so you know I will tackle that next. I had to pick one challenge at a time here. This was enough for now. And I am happy to report, I rocked it! Thanks to The Vegg!


Irma’s Vegan Pan-Crepes

Ingredients

  • 1/2 Cup of The Vegg that’s been pre-mixed using Plain Almond Milk
  • 1/2 Cup Organic All-Purpose Flour
  • 3/4 Cup, plus 2 Tablespoons Water
  • 1 + 1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1/8 tsp plus a good pinch Himalayan Black Crystal Salt (Indian Kala Namak, fine ground)
  • Cooking Spray
  • Organic Powdered Sugar
  • Fruit for garnish/side
  • 8 inch non-stick skillet

Directions

Premix The Vegg according to package directions, but use plain almond milk in place of water.

Take the 1/2 Cup of The Vegg mixture and add it to a bowl, then add the remaining ingredients: flour, water, vanilla and black salt. Blend with a whisk until smooth or throw everything into your Vitamix. It works either way.

Pour this mixture into a container with a handle and spout such as a Pyrex measuring cup and refrigerate this mixture for 30 minutes.

Pre-heat an 8 inch non-stick skillet on medium-low heat.

Very lightly, spray the pan with cooking spray and pour a good grapefruit size portion of batter into the center of the pan (photos below). The trick is to get the right thickness. These are thicker than a crepe but not as thick as an omelet. You may have to play with it and you might even screw up the first one. Let’s hope not. After pouring in the batter, pick up the pan and rotate with your wrist to evenly distribute the batter to cover the entire bottom of the pan, just like you would if making a crepe or an omelet.

Then wait…..These take a bit to cook and you will see them start to shrink a bit, the edges will start to lift and the center will bubble a bit, and then you can flip it, BUT use your hands… that’s right, and do it fast, cuz these suckers are hot! I used a toothpick to delicately help me lift the edge a bit more, then I grabbed it with my fingertips using both hands and quickly flipped it over, you will see it bubble again. No need to cook this side long at all, maybe 30 seconds. Then gently fold over one side toward the middle and flip again to finish. Move the finished pan-crepe to a plate and use a lid to keep it warm or a warming drawer etc… while you make your next one.

When all of the pan-crepes are finished being created, you will probably want to reheat them slightly, sprinkle with powder sugar and serve. Don’t forget the side of fruit!

Note* You simply cannot make this recipe without The Vegg and the black salt. This gives it the egg like flavor and color. You may even want to use more black salt than I suggest. It’s all personal preference!

This recipe makes 8.

Enjoy!

~The Karmatarian

PS. I would love to hear about your family traditions! What is a family recipe that you have veganized or would love to try? Maybe it’s one that could really use The Vegg?

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Helen said,

    Boy oh Boy, I see my mom everyday, and I grow to somehow not appreciate what a wonderful human being she is; until someone like you comes along to remind me of the outstanding qualities this woman has to offer. Christa, she hasn’t changed, at 88 she still loves to cook and share her food with all that come into her home; she’s still cooking everyday; and now for her great-grandson, Novo! Novo lovessss her cooking. When he eats her tasty morsels, he shakes his little hand and groans, and asks “more please”. He too loves Irma’s pancakes. He has them at least twice a week; this is her way of showing her love! Thank you, thank you. I will share your blog with the boys, and mom! She will be so happy, that she’ll cry! God works in mysterious ways, and you know what a connection she has to the Big Guy or Gal! Today, you reminded me of what I might have forgotten. I will go home and give her a great big hug, tell her how much I love and appreciate everything that she does for the FAMILIA! I will make sure she sees your latest post! Gracias. Helen

  2. 2

    Christa said,

    Helen, you just brought me to tears! I had no idea my post would have such an impact but I am so happy! Don’t worry, it happens to us all. Life is crazy and we forget to appreciate the people who are closest to us. I love that she is still cooking! Hug her for me and my mom too and let me know what everyone thinks about the post! Thanks so much for posting this beautiful comment. XOXO


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

