Raspberry filled Almond Cupcakes with Chocolate Frosting

This was an accidental discovery. My intention was to tweak the almond apricot cupcake I meant to post long ago. Ahh, something was just “off” about those. While I was re-baking a batch this weekend, I decided to change things up and fill half with raspberry.  Oooh yah, now this is what I’m talkin’ about! Took my first bite, and as my teeth sank through the three layers of sweet and different textures my taste buds instantaneously sent a message to my brain… MUST-HAVE-MORE! I didn’t have to think about it. That’s when I knew these were blog worthy.

Fabulous lesson learned as I’m kind of new food blogger. Never bake stuff when you have only a few taste testers around. And without having a fun place to go and spread the vegan love, I must of eaten a half dozen within a few hours! Normally I have great self control. WTH? Bad, bad timing. I am headed to my 20 year high school reunion this coming weekend! As if that’s not scary enough.  I’m totally giving away my age here…

I hate dry cake

I hate dry cake and dry cupcakes that think their fancy frosting will somehow make up for it. Usually never an issue with vegan cupcakes. I just love vegan cupcakes! I said this before in my very first post- Chocolate Cupcakes Sent from Heaven with Fluffy Cookies-n-Cream Frosting. Never dry. Oh nooo.

I was asked by a friend who is a Chef how it was that I could deny myself of milk, eggs and butter. She really needs to try these! The only thing I’m denying, baby is high cholesterol, a heart attack, a disease from an endless list of diseases related to eating animal foods and cruelty to factory farmed animals. I may have eaten 6 cupcakes… ok, maybe more, but I don’t have to worry about cholesterol… though my butt might get bigger! Thankfully I don’t do this often.

Back to vegan baking. No, I don’t think that every baked good out there can be veganized but cupcakes are fantastic, and one of many vegan indulgences. As a culture, we over indulge. Look around. Wouldn’t you agree? Not much is special anymore. Most, if not all baked items call for dairy, eggs and butter. Imagine going back in time when recipes were first being developed and what if we had no access to animal ingredients. Vegan desserts would be the end-all-be-all! We wouldn’t know any different. We would be kind to our health, planet and animal friends and still get to indulge. But something went terribly wrong. People went a little Coo-Coo somewhere along the path of recipe evolution. Heart-breaking, literally! Dairy, eggs and butter, butter, dairy and eggs… every baking recipe! It’s kind of like a crack addict getting high every single day and thinking it’s normal. No, we don’t have to consume animal foods to enjoy yummy treats.  We surely don’t need to smoke crack either. But we could! And just because we can do something doesn’t mean we should.

So eat a vegan crack-cake… I mean cupcake, and do something positive for the world. Get your good karma and sweet fix all at the same time! Just try not to become a vegan crack-cake junkie like me! Totally kidding of course.

Raspberry filled Almond Cupcakes with Chocolate Frosting

What you’ll need for the cupcakes

1/3 Cup organic Canola Oil

3/4 Cup organic Sugar

1 Cup of Tempt Vanilla Hemp Milk by Living Harvest (It’s my favorite but you can use Vanilla Soy Milk too)

3 tsp Almond Extract

1 Cup organic All Purpose Flour

1/3 Cup Bob’s Red Mill Almond Meal/Flour

1 1/2 tsp Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Baking Soda

1/2 tsp Salt

Raspberry Filling:  I used 365 Brand (Whole Foods Brand) Raspberry Fruit Spread

What you’ll need for the frosting

1/4 Cup Margarine such as Earth Balance, Softened

1/4 Cup Vegetable Shortening such as Earth Balance, Softened

1/2 Cup unsweetened Raw Cacao Powder sifted

2 1/2 Cups organic Powdered Sugar

3 Tbs  Tempt Vanilla Hemp Milk

1 1/2 tsp Almond Extract

Whole Almonds or Sliced almonds for garnish

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 and line a muffin pan with cupcake liners.  In a large bowl, combine oil, sugar, hemp milk, almond extract. Sift in the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. I use a whisk and mix until the batter is smooth. Add almond flour and mix lightly to combine. Fill each cupcake liner two-thirds full. Bake for 20-22 minutes until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean or the center bounces back with the finger test. Put on cooling rack and cool.

When cupcakes are cooled, push a hole in the top and center of each with your thumb. Using a small spoon fill each well with raspberry fruit and push down in there if you need to. Level the tops with your spoon.

Make the frosting

Cream together the margarine and shortening until combined well. Add cocoa powder and incorporate as best you can. Add confectioners sugar in 1/2 cup batches and beat well with an electric hand mixer adding hemp milk after each addition. Add Almond extract and beat until light and fluffy about 3 minutes or so.

Frost your cakes

Using a spoon, dollop a large enough amount of frosting onto the tops of each cupcake to cover all of the fruit spread filling. Then smooth in a circular motion being careful not to mix the fruit spread filling into the frosting. Top with whole almonds or sliced almonds for garnish. Sink your teeth!

So I declared it vegan cupcake week on my Karmatarian Facebook page. Why not? Vegan cupcakes spread love, hope and sweet kindness and post 10th anniversary of 9/11 we could all use a little. I’ll share a few past cupcake creations and also get working on my almond apricot cupcake recipe post for you.

What is your favorite vegan cupcake recipe. Please do share!!!

Enjoy!

~The Karmatarian

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Amy Simpson said,

    Wouldn’t these also be gluten free?

  2. 2

    Christa said,

    Hi Amy! Unfortunately they are not gluten free. If you are a gluten free baker you could substitute an all purpose gluten free flour or tapioca, rice and quinoa flours for the all purpose baking flour but I haven’t experimented to figure out the measurements. If you try it, please share! I know there are so many GF eaters out there that would love to know. Thanks for reading the blog and taking time to comment!

  3. 3

    […] almond cupcake part of the recipe here is the same as my recipe for the cupcakes for the raspberry filled almond cupcakes with chocolate frosting. You can fill the almond apricot cupcakes two slightly different ways and frost them two different […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

