Plumberry Thyme Smoothie

Summer is winding down. Kiddos are going back to school. Although, you wouldn’t know Summer is on it’s way out with the heat wave we are experiencing here in Chicago today and tomorrow. I shouldn’t complain. I do a fair share over our brutal Winters. So let’s enjoy “Summer” while we can, shall we?

Now that I have my new Vitamix. Just call me smoothie crazy! Call me inspired. Call me what you will… as long as you call me healthy. The possibilities are endless with this mother of all blending machines! I am still in the process of setting up my my Karmatarian e-store again since Amazon booted us Illinoisans from their affiliate program. In the meantime, I am happy to let you know that I can offer you free shipping on your new best friend… the Vitamix 5200! I have been using in love with my new blender for about 3 months so far and I plan to share my thoughts in detail very soon. For now, I am being held hostage. I have to style tons of wedding hair, along with supplying cuts and organic colors to help beautify our world every single day of this holiday weekend. I’m happy to do it, really (you can’t see my facial expression right now). No break for Mommy!

I do have a fun smoothie to share while it’s still “summer”. It’s different. I like different. It’s certainly not hard to get more variety into your life with a good blender in tow. I recommend the Vitamix! Smile. I haven’t told you yet how awesome it is!!! Seriously, email me if you want more info on the blender of your dreams and free shipping!

Ok, back to my recipe. Fresh plums which are coming into their best early fall, frozen blueberries, thyme and agave help make up this fragrantly tasting smoothie.

Plums benefit us with their mineral rich content. Potassium, Fluoride and Iron. They offer B-complex vitamins. Vitamin K, vitamin C and fiber.

Blueberries are known as leaders in the antioxidant department and also contain vitamin C, Manganese and fiber. 

Fresh Thyme has a pretty impressive list of health benefits. It is part of the mint family and like all the members of the mint family, they possess terpenoids known for their cancer preventive properties.

Plumberry & Thyme Smoothie

What You’ll Need

3 Plums, dark purplish-red, ripe, pitted

1/2 Cup or so, Frozen Blueberries

1 Tbs chopped fresh Thyme  (extra sprigs to decorate if desired)

Handful of Ice

2-3 tsp Agave

Did you say you want to add Lemon? Go for it! Lemon compliments this quite nicely.

Directions

Put all ingredients into a blender and blend until a smoothie like consistency. Add more agave and ice to taste.

Enjoy your holiday weekend everyone! I’ll be a workin’  :)

The Karmatarian~

Leave a Reply

