Multi-Grain & Chia Chocolate Chip Pancakes with Coconut Chocolate Cream Sauce

Treat yourself. You deserve it!

Wedding season is in full swing and mama’s been working hard. Hair styling can be downright physically exhausting! Missing my son over the weekend, I wanted to treat us to something yummy on Monday, which was to be like our Sunday. Relaxed and lazy. I threw out some pancake flavors like blueberry and cinnamon pecan but he was not hearing it. I should have known he’d request the dreaded C word… CHOCOLATE. He reminds me of the Snipe, Kevin from the movie “UP” who’s nuts about chocolate. We watched this movie together on our lazy day.  So stinkin’ cute… and how fitting, as my three year old freaks for chocolate. It’s a scary treat because chocolate tends to make him E-V-I-L! Oh, he will tell you this, with a giggle if you ask him. However, I’ve noticed that vegan chocolate seems to bring out more manageable behavior than say M & M’s which my very loving, but non-vegan family members tend to slip him from time to time.

It’s tough being a mom, my heart breaks when I have to deny my cutie of his favorite treat 99% of the time. But I must. For the sake of my sanity.

So Mommy Caved! Chocolate it is…

I take pride in the fact that I made this a bit healthier using multi-grain pancake mix.  Chia seeds are an excellent egg replacer plus fiber, hydration and 5 times the calcium of milk. Yep, you heard right. Although the Chia seeds don’t steal the show here, they are barely noticeable, really. The pancakes themselves are no biggie either. It’s the coconut cream sauce! I must tell you about this Amazing versatile treat! Coconut cream is another healthy addition to this breakfast. Don’t freak. Coconut cream does have saturated fat but it’s a healthy fat which your body can turn to energy very quickly. It will not clog your arteries like animal fat. It will not raise your blood cholesterol and it actually helps you loose weight. It speeds up your metabolism and helps in the bowel function department.  It also helps to boost your immune system against many diseases and fight cancer and viruses due to it’s high Lauric Acid content, a property found in human breast milk. We can’t say the same great things about dairy… so whats the worry?

Multi-Grain & Chia Chocoalate Chip Pancakes with Coconut Chocolate Cream Sauce

Ingredients

Pancakes

  • 1 Cup Trader Joe’s Multigrain Baking and Pancake Mix
  • 1/2 Cup Vegan Chocolate Chips
  • 1 Tbs Chia Seeds plus 3 Tbs Water
  • 1/2 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1 Cup Non Dairy Milk such as my favorite for baking Tempt Vanilla Hemp Milk

Coconut Chocolate Cream Sauce


Directions

Place the can of coconut milk into the freezer first. Heat your griddle. Put the pancake mix and baking powder into a bowl and whisk to blend together. In a small bowl, add 1 Tbs Chia seeds to 3 Tbs water and stir and let sit for a minute. Stir again. Let sit for another minute. Let it get nice and gelatinous. This will act as the egg replacer. Add the chia egg to the non-dairy milk in another large bowl and whisk until everything is well blended. Next add the dry pancake mix to the wet ingredients and whisk to blend well. Fold in the Chocolate Chips. When your griddle is hot and ready. Make your pancakes!

Note* I am not a pancake professional! I don’t even want to tell you how to go about it.  Pancakes are too close to baking and baking and I have unresolved issues. I do my best, but usually screw up the first few cakes due to adjusting the heat for the pan. If your vegan pancakes are not cooking all the way through or seeming flat or too wet, add more baking powder, or dry mix which works for me.

When your cakes are stacked, keep them warm while you prepare your cream sauce. Take out the can of coconut milk from the freezer, open and scoop off the top cream that has risen to the top of the can and solidified a bit. It should be about a 1/2 Cup. Add this to a mixing bowl and add the sugar, cacao powder and vanilla and with an electric hand mixer, beat on a high speed until well blended and creamy. Since it won’t be in the freezer that long while you prepare your pancakes, you should end up with a creamy/thick sauce that you can serve over your pancakes instead of syrup. The hot cakes will melt the sauce even more… Mmmm!

The versatility comes into play with the left over cream. Place in a small container and store in the refrigerator. The longer it refrigerates the thicker it becomes and the the flavors blend together. This makes a fantastic, frosting or whip cream replacement. I ate the rest of my chocolate whip cream with strawberries the next day! Be creative and be grateful that we don’t need the dreaded dairy to enjoy an amazing dessert!!!!

You can always prepare your Coconut Chocolate Cream in advance and let is sit out a while to soften or warm it up a bit if you like.

You can also make this coconut cream plain without the chocolate to replace whip cream. Just use the vanilla and sugar. I have also meant to experiment with organic powdered sugar for an even smoother outcome but I haven’t done this yet…. maybe I’ll go do it right now!

Enjoy this clip from the movie “Up”

Damnit Disney… for making me cry. The best message: Ellie to Carl~ Thanks for the Adventure. Now go have a new one! Awwwwwwww

And a few of my favorite  “Up” movie lines ~ 

Ellie: ” You know him. Charles Muntz. When I get big, I’m going where he’s going. South America… It’s like America… but South”!

Russell: “This is fun already isn’t it? By the time we get there, you are gonna feel SO assisted”

Carl: “if you don’t hurry up the Tigers will eat you” Russell: “Damn those Tigers in South America”

Dug: “Oh yes, oh yes, since I have said that I can see how you would think that”

So enjoy and remember…  “A wilderness explorer is a friend to all, be a plant or fish or tiny mole!”

The Karmatarian~



Leave a Reply

