Mini Raw Chocolate Dream Pies

Raw chocolate pudding made with avocados is nothing new in the raw food world, but it is to me! It blows my mind how nature can give us just a few ingredients (minus any help from animals) and we can come up with friggin pudding! Mousse! Whatever you wanna call it… I call it smooth, creamy, awesome chocolate mousse pudding!!! WHY wasn’t this handed down through generations in my family? How is it that my ancestors did not know this EASY secret? It is so disappointing how we think we need to out smart mother nature and change it all up when we can create something this good and so simply.  Move over Bill Cosby, it’s time to think outside of the old commercial pudding mix “box”. Try this and prepare to be amazed!

Mini pies are a fun finger food that’s great for a party or pot luck. Tell people who are unfamiliar with the raw food world what this is made from and I bet the reactions will be quite interesting! I make the raw chocolate pudding a few ways: Just the pudding and lick the bowl clean. You will too, trust me! Fill the nut crusts to make mini pies or the lazy vegan version, using Keebler’s mini graham ready crusts which would not be an option for the gluten free folks. I know what your thinking. The Keebler mini crust ingredients are not uber healthy, but a good alternative for the nut allergies out there! If I were making a large pie, I know there are healthier crusts sold at places like Whole Foods or I could spend the time to make one myself. But time is tight for most and I would rather see someone do it vegan any way they can. A Keebler crust every now and then (but far in between) won’t kill anyone.  Not on the spot anyway. Lol. It’s fast, convenient and quite delicious.  I can’t claim perfection with my diet and although I have type-A tendencies, I try not to be over-the-top strict with myself all the time. But do as you do. There are many ways you could go about the mousse pudding in this recipe: straight up, over fruit in a festive glass, parfait style or pies.  Have fun and be creative.

Nutritionally, avocados provide about 20 essential nutrients that include fiber, potassium, Vitamin E, B-vitamins and folic acid. They act as a “nutrient booster” enabling the body to absorb more fat-soluble nutrients, such as alpha and beta-carotene and lutein, from foods that are eaten along with them. Dates also contain a lot of potassium per serving  along with 3 grams of fiber. They also contain magnesium, iron and calcium, B vitamins and trace minerals. Cacao is high in iron, antioxidants and have compounds that act as anti-depressants because they help increase the levels of specific neurotransmitters in our brains. Can you say all this about the old box mix?


Mini Nut Crusts

1/3 Cup Cashews

1/3 Cup Almonds

4 Medjool Dates, pitted

Water

Mini Cupcake Pan

Plastic Wrap

Easy to Prepare

Put the cashews, almonds and dates into a food processor and process until a crumb like texture. Add just enough water, (start with a sprinkle) so the mixture combines. You don’t want them soggy so be careful here. You just want to be able to press and form them into your pie pan. Line your mini cupcake pan with plastic wrap and portion evenly among each section. It’s approximately 1 Tbs of crumb mixture for each. Take more plastic wrap and lay it over everything and begin to press in with your fingers and shape each mini crust.  You may try doing this without plastic wrap but good luck. It’s a sticky mess.  The plastic wrap also helps to pop these babies out with ease. When you are done forming the pie crusts, remove the top layer of plastic wrap and place in the freezer for 5-10 minutes or longer if desired to set firm.  Now you are ready to fill.

Raw Chocolate Mousse Pudding

2 Ripe Avocados

8 Medjool Dates

1 Cup of Hot Water

2 Tbs Cacao Powder, Raw and Organic

1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract

Raw Agave Nectar or Raw Sugar to Taste

Dried Coconut flakes or berries as garnish if desired

The Procedure

Using a knife, cut and remove the pits from the dates. Soak the dates in one cup of very hot water for 20 minutes. Do not discard the water. Next using a blender add avocados, soaked dates, cacao powder, vanilla, agave or sugar and half cup of the date water. Blend until smooth and creamy.  Add more date water and sweetener as needed. Just a little note: You can sweeten this to match your sweet tooth’s preference. The nut crusts are not that sweet so it wouldn’t hurt if the filling was extra sweet to make up for it. You should then refrigerate this mixture for at least an hour for the flavors to blend. I usually can’t wait if it’s just a casual batch but you will get a better end result. I usually put my crusts into the refrigerator after I freeze them, while the pudding is setting. After your pudding sets, you can fill your pie crusts. Sprinkle with coconut flakes or garnish with a berry if desired.

Feel free to play around with this recipe.  Omit the dates and water, add coconut oil or coconut butter in it’s place along with maple syrup or raw sugar instead of agave. Raw food is very creative!

What are some of your favorite versions of raw chocolate mousse/pudding?

Find Raw Cacao powder and other ingredients here

Enjoy!

The Karmatarian~

P.S. Another version of this chocolate mousse can be found at the Soul Searching Vegan. Even though I have seen many different recipes similar to this and wanted to try them, I have to say that it was Chelsea who inspired me to do it and create something with it to share with you. I hope you will check out her fun blog at her newest blog address.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    angie foster said,

    Hey Christa! I was checking out your mango salad and came across the chocolate pudding recipe, which I make already…but not with the crust! Sounds delish. Eli can’t have almonds, do you think it would taste ok if I just used cashews? I know he would love this! Then I noticed your gluten free mac n cheese, what are Cavatelli Noodles? I briefly looked them up but couldn’t find anything quickly on them. Eli can’t have peanuts, rice, almonds, soy, sugar, corn, gluten, dairy, oats, garlic and sugar. This has basically removed pasta from his diet, which is a total bummer. He won’t eat spaghetti squash and I can’t find lentil pasta anywhere. I’m hopeful that this noodles your talking about are something he can have!! Love your blog! Thanks…angie foster

  2. 2

    Christa said,

    Hey Angie! Thanks for checking out my blog! I love that chocolate pudding! I imagine cashews would be great with a little date mixed in. As far as pasta, I found the Tinkyada pasta brand which are gluten free but I believe brown rice. Cavatelli are those small shells. Have you tried Nooodles? Three o’s. I guess they are noodles made from yam flour. gluten free. My girlfriend bought them at Whole Foods in the refrigerated section. She said they were not bad at all! She liked them. There is also zuchinni pasta in the raw food world that is basically just zuchinni made into noodles with a certain tool. I can find out more for you. Have you tried seaweed pasta? That might be pushing it with a picky kiddo though.I haven’t even tried them yet. It sounds like a tough situation over there. Best of luck and please let me know if you need any help or want to pick my brain! If you find lentil pasta, please share. I love lentils!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

