Maple Rosemary Roasted Butternut Squash with Tofu, Raisins and Walnuts

It’s been in the teens and single digits for days here in Chicago. I’m cold. I have a bad case of cabin fever and I’m craving some sort of comfort food. I was looking around the kitchen wondering what to do with that butternut squash just sitting over there… waiting for me. Stuck inside as it snowed yet again, it was a good time to be creative.

I was very impressed with the aroma’s that filled the house while this was roasting. I’m going to keep this in mind for a beautiful dish to present to guests. One whiff and they are sure to feel special.

Maple Rosemary Roasted Butternut Squash with Tofu, Raisins and Walnuts

Ingredients

1 Medium Butternut Squash

1 14 oz Package Firm Organic Tofu, drained well and cut into 1/2″ cubes. I used Wildwood organic, high protein/super firm, no drain.

1/2-3/4 C Red Onion sliced in rings or largely diced

1/2 C Raisins

3/4 C Coarsely Chopped and Toasted Walnuts. I toasted mine in the toaster oven at 375 degrees for about 10 minutes

Prepared Quinoa or Short Grain Brown Rice for serving

 

Marinade

3/4 C Olive Oil

1/2 C Organic Grade B Maple Syrup

1/4 C Rice Vinegar. I used Trader Joe’s Seasoned Rice Vinegar

1/4 C  Organic Soy Sauce. If you want this recipe to be gluten free, be sure to use gluten free soy sauce

1 tsp Jarred Crushed Garlic. You can use Fresh, 2 cloves, minced.

1+1/2 tsp Fresh Rosemary. I used fresh that I had previously frozen.

1 tsp Dried Thyme

1/2 – 1 tsp Cinnamon. I used 1 tsp

 

Optional

Sea Salt, Pepper, Agave. I added 1/8 tsp Himalayan Sea Salt and 1 tsp Agave. A dash of freshly ground Pepper.


 

Directions

Preheat oven to 450 degrees

First drain tofu ~ While tofu is sitting and draining, make your marinade. Taste and adjust the seasonings. Keep in mind that roasting will bring out the sweet maple flavor and the salty flavor ends up a little more diluted. I added salt just in case.

Cube your tofu and add to the marinade, cover and refrigerate for about a half hour. Preferably longer.

Next, while the tofu is marinating, toast the walnuts and set aside. Peel the butternut squash. Be sure to use a good peeler to prevent an unnecessary headache. This is where  I grew frustrated in the past and would hesitate to make squash recipes. I recently found an awesome peeler called the Titan, that really does the trick! Cut the peeled squash in half lengthwise, clean and then cut into 1/2 inch cubes. The smaller the pieces the faster it will roast. You want bite size pieces for this dish.

When the marinade is ready, add the cubed squash, red onion and raisins to the tofu marinade and fold gently to coat everything. Be careful not to break apart your pretty tofu cubes. Once coated, transfer to a very shallow baking pan. I used a Jelly Roll pan. You can pour on every last drop of marinade or use a slotted spoon *see note below. Spread out evenly and put on middle rack of the preheated oven and roast for 12-15 minutes. Remove and carefully use a spatula to flip over as best as you can and put it back to roast for another 12-15 minutes.

When done roasting, transfer it all to a beautiful serving dish. Serve alone, over Quinoa or Brown Rice and top with the toasted walnuts for delicious added texture.

I divided my soy sauce in half with Bragg Liquid Aminos to reduce sodium.   You can use all Soy, all Braggs, Tamari, or Nama Shoyu or whatever you prefer. After all, cooking is your art.

*NOTE: You can make a side of Quinoa or Short Grain Brown Rice for this dish. Or it tastes great on it’s own. I added 1/4 cup more oil to equal 1 cup and made sure to use every last drop of marinade to roast this so I would have extra sauce to serve over brown rice, which gives an Asian feel or Quinoa for a modern comfort food feel. If you prefer to eat it alone, you may consider using a slotted spoon to lay it out on the roasting pan so it won’t end up too saucy or oily in the end.

Enjoy!

~The Karmatarian
9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sue said,

    I highly recommend this dish, it was AMAZING! My husband, who is a hearty eater, LOVED it as well. I followed the recipe to a tee putting it over quinoa and used dried cranberries instead of raisins only because I didn’t have them. The Butternut squash/ tofu combo compliments each other very well. The aroma does fill up the house smelling wonderful. I can’t wait to make it again for my vegan friends or not!

  2. 2

    karmatarian said,

    Oh how wonderful to hear! I think cranberries would be even more perfect in this dish, certainly prettier! I will try that myself next time! Great idea! Thank you so much for posting Sue!

  3. 3

    This looks so good! I am definitely going to have to try this one. Butternut squash is probably my favorite thing ever! Thanks!

  4. 4

    […] Maple and Rosemary Roasted Butternut Squash with Tofu, Raisins and Walnuts – This is one of my personal creations. It will fill your home with the best aromas, very inviting […]

  5. 5

    […] Maple and Rosemary Roasted Butternut Squash with Tofu, Raisins and Walnuts – This is one of my personal creations. It will fill your home with the best aromas, very inviting […]

  6. 6

    Laura said,

    This recipe is incredible!

  7. 7

    loved it! but don’t add the extra oil: its too greasy. i used pine nuts because i was out of walnuts. would use less than 3/4C nuts with pine nuts.

  8. 8

    […] a bit of looking around my cupboard and recipe searching, I came upon a promising looking one from Karmatarian that included tofu and butternut squash. Her recipe called for raisins and walnuts, which I […]

  9. 9

    […] a bit of looking around my cupboard and recipe searching, I came upon a promising looking one from Karmatarian that included tofu and butternut squash. Her recipe called for raisins and walnuts, which I […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

