Simple Mango Chutney Dip

My summer was very busy, sprinkled with a little bit of fun and unfortunately a little bit of stress. I was hoping things would slow down so I could find time to blog. No such luck on the slowing down thing. What I was really waiting and hoping for was a little inspiration which came in time for Labor day. Funny, I realize my last article was written for Memorial day. I don’t plan these things,  but I guess I did however unintentionally take the summer off from blogging. I’m back and hoping your summer was a great one!

It was time for my son’s 3rd birthday party mid August which kind of  feels like the end of summer for us. I had a blast planning his Thomas the train birthday bash and I was very inspired by this super EASY appetizer dip I made. I can’t take total credit as my girlfriend Carrie gave me the original recipe a few years ago and I’m not sure where she got it. I never thought I would enjoy this one again, but I Veganized it my friends!!! I’m happy to report it was a total hit, the first dip devoured, and if you make it, be prepared for everyone to ask you what’s in it. I almost didn’t want to tell anyone, especially those omnivores who just don’t get it yet, but I did anyway, for the shock value of course! This dip is really delicious and the flavors were just meant to be combined together!

Side note: I am not a huge fan of processed foods, especially soy products which are not organic. However, making a dip for a party doesn’t happen everyday and moderation is key. This dip sure beats the alternative… cruelty to animals, planet and your arteries!

Simple Mango Chutney Dip

What you’ll need

1  8 0z tub of Tofutti brand  Better than Cream Cheese

1 jar  of  Trader Joe’s brand Mango Ginger Chutney (or similar brand)

1 Cup or more of  Vegan Bacon Bits (I love the one Whole Foods sells in bulk)

The green section of a few Green onions (or Chives if you choose)

Wheat Thin Crackers. These are the original recipe cracker of choice but now I like Trader Joe’s version which has simpler ingredients and similar flavor.

How to prepare it

I used a 9″ round glass pie dish. First, spread the “cream cheese” on the bottom of the dish. Next, spread all the delicious Mango Ginger Chutney on top of the cream cheese to cover it (it has a spicy kick but don’t worry, the cream cheese tones it down when eaten all together, it’s perfectly balanced flavor!). Then sprinkle on the bacon bits which add a ton of flavor and a bit of needed crunch (I left no Mango Chutney uncovered). Last, cut the green section of a few green onions in about 1/4 inch pieces or smaller and sprinkle them on top for flavor and color and as much as desired (I sprinkled a much lesser amount than the Bacon bits). It’s that simple! Your dip is prepared…

 

Enjoy!

The Karmatarian~

 

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Lisa said,

    Christa, one of our guests for Thanksgiving is semi-vegan, so I came to your site to get this recipe. We are going to serve it as an appetizer. Will let you know what everyone thinks!

  2. 2

    Lisa said,

    The mango chutney dip was a HUGE hit! We served it at Thanksgiving and both of our guests asked for the recipe. I didn’t tell my husband that the cream cheese wasn’t “real,” and he didn’t believe me when I told him. We served it with two kinds of crackers: Triscuits and the TJ’s version of Wheat Thins. Personally, I wasn’t a fan of the “bacon” bits, and will probably omit them next time because chutney has so much flavor. I’ll definitely make it again. Thank you for the recipe, Christa!!

  3. 3

    Sue Gervasr said,

    I love adding jellies and chutneys to tofutti better than cream cheese. I haven’t tried this one yet and will! The farmers market always offers some fun sweet and spicy jellies (like cherry pepper – my fave) to serve over the crm chz. DELISH!

  4. 4

    karmatarian said,

    Hi Sue! I love Tofutti’s products. What would make them better is going non-gmo and organic… We’ll also ignore the partially hydrogenated thing. Lol. a vegan needs to have a little fun too. I have never heard of Cherry pepper Jelly. Now I am curious and it sounds awesome! Thanks so much for posting!

  5. 5

    karmatarian said,

    Hi Lisa! Your so welcome! I myself enjoy that crunch of the ‘bacon’ bits but you could always cut way down on those! If you try this recipe in different ways, please be sure to share :) thanks so much for posting your review!

  6. 6

    […] Need another great appetizer for the game? Try my popular Simple Mango Chutney […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

